Supplements…

SupplementsSupplementation is just as important in the equation of reaching your goals as nutrition/diet, and exercise.  The supplements provided below are my choice because they work for me.  Keep in mind that what works for me may not work for you.

Meltdown (fatburner)-energy, mental focus,
Cinnamon-metabolism
Fish Oil-Omega 3s
Multi Vitamin-nutrients for your body
Isopure Protein powder (Chocolate)
Isopure Protein Drink
Muscle Milk Protein (I tend to grab these when I’m on the go, hungry and not wanting to eat junk food)

Once I get fully back into the swing of things, I will also work these back into the equation:

Beast Sports Nutrition Aminolytes (comes in powder form and only in Watermelon flavor-but YUM!!!)
Bodybuilding Foundation Series Casesin Protein-slow absorbing to work on your muscles when you are at rest.  (I drink it before bed-ONLY MIX IT WITH WATER!!! it swells and gets SUPER thick, great flavor, a little chalky but not bad)
Dymatize ISO-100 Gourmet Vanilla Protein-(I love Isopure, but it’s expensive.  Dymatize is cost efficient, no carbs, no sugar 25g of Protein p/svg and it tastes delicious!)
Natrol Multiple Energizer-GREAT multi-vitamin VERY cost efficient!

The market for supplements can and IS overwhelming.  There is so much available with claims of amazing things the products can do.  It’s really challenging to decide which products to use and for what.  My suggestion, that has worked extremely well in the past is to research.  Don’t simply go by the glossy ads in fitness magazines or crazy commercials endorsed by celebrities.

Bodybuilding.com offers a simple approach by allowing you to search for supplements by various methods.  They allow you to search by category, plan, ingredients, brand, top 50, and sale items.  My favorite of these, and what I suggest to beginners, is to search by GOALS.  By doing so, you are searching for products that support your fitness goals.  When you search by goals, they will suggest a stack of products that work well together to help you reach your goal.  What I choose to do is look at the products in the stacks and search for the product, (not the brand), and choose products by the brand that has the highest consumer rating.  I click on the ratings and read the reviews, paying close attention to negative comments.  Most of the consumer ratings have pictures of the customer that wrote the review.

Bodybuilding.com provides detailed information as well as videos that discuss the products, their use, target audience, and use.  If you still have questions, they have a great live support team available to you via online, or calling their customer service line.  When I have had questions, they would ask me what my goals were, what I was taking, what I am looking for.  Unlike going to GNC, where they only push their products, I was able to have an educated conversation about supplements and reaching my goals.  The added touch is after any phone call I have ever had, they followed up with me via email.  My orders were always on time, packaged well and had free samples of other products.  I have provided direct link to Bodybuilding.com’s Shop By Goal section below…

http://www.bodybuilding.com/store/goals.htm

Good Luck!  Let me know if you have questions!

 

Your comments are appreciated!

