The Importance of Listening to Your Body…

PlatoListening to your body is actually a broad topic.  It can go into very deep meanings that explore meditation and self discovery, but for the sake of this post, I am staying in the shallow end (sort of speak).  Most of the posts that I enter are inspired by personal events, and today is no different.

I have mentioned in my previous entries that while I have been successful in working out regularly, I have been in the way of my own success because of the foods I was choosing to eat.  With that in mind, I chose to go back to the workouts, and the workout schedules that worked best for me; however, this time I was going to greatly change the food I eat.

After I bought my Nutri Bullet, I began to significantly increase my intake of vegetables and fruit.  My body thanked me for it.  I found that I felt satisfied, fewer headaches, energized, regular, and my cravings for sugary and salty foods greatly decreased.  Over all, I felt fantastic!  Now, let’s fast forward to this past week and weekend.

For whatever reason, I slowed down on my fruit and veggie drinks this week.  I did not binge on junk and fast food, but kept my diet pretty healthy throughout the week.  However, on Super Bowl Sunday, the family got together and I enjoyed BBQ ribs (no sauce), baked beans (ugh, I know…I know), and spanish rice.  I don’t drink beer, but enjoyed a glass of wine and a Long Island Iced Tea.  I wasn’t worried about it because I knew I was getting up this morning and going to the gym.

Needless to say, my body spoke loud and clear to me today.  I went to bed with heartburn, woke up feeling like I had a brick sitting in my stomach.  I felt tired and sluggish.  My stomach was very upset when I arrived at the gym, so I decided to skip leg day and work on my arms and shoulders.  I pushed through and had a great workout but knew that if I even attempted cardio I was going to throw up.  So I went home.

I kept wondering why I felt so bad during my drive home and it dawned on me.  I had been eating clean for over a month now and was not eating meat, but mainly relying on seafood and poultry for protein.  I also hadn’t really eaten anything sweet, greasy, salty or unhealthy.  The type of food I had consumed was the only thing different.

When I got home I fixed I scrambled two eggs and ate a serving of rice.  I then fixed my self a smoothie with spinach, broccoli, 1/2 a banana, coconut water, yogurt and frozen berries.  I noticed that after my last swallow, my body felt like it couldn’t get enough. (Gulp…gulp…gulp).  About five minutes later, I felt my body perk up and I felt better.

I realized that my body was talking to me.  It was upset with me for loading it with the rich foods I enjoyed at the super bowl, it had a hard time breaking it down and digesting it.  I listened to it at the gym and cut my workout a little shorter, and rewarded it with fruits and vegetables that were rich in nutrients and the coconut water replenished my electrolytes.

The lesson for us all, myself included, is to listen to your body.  If you are eating foods that leave you feeling sluggish, tired, uncomfortable, upset your stomach or even give you heartburn, chances are your body is telling you that it’s not what it wants or needs.  Find a healthier alternative that you and your body can enjoy!  The worst that can happen is that you will feel great, and will reach your goal!  😉

Your comments are appreciated!

