Keep It Moving…

I started off having a great week last week.  I was eating clean and enjoyed some vigorous workouts and the “bruised” muscle feeling.  Then comes along Thursday to throw me off my game…

I was reaching behind me with my left arm when I felt a sharp pain between my shoulder-blade and my spine (areas 5 and 6…I believe they are called the Trapezius Interior and the Rhomboid Major). shoulderpain-back At first I assumed it was gas and tried maneuvering my arms around to dislodge it.  No Luck.  I couldn’t walk, sit, stand, or lay down without being in excruciating pain.  So I have been on bed rest, with a heating pad, muscle relaxers and ibuprofen for the past 4 days.

Needless to say, now that I’m feeling better, I am more than excited to get back to the gym tomorrow.  I am at my best when I am working out.  I feel great, focused, positive and ready to take on the world.  When I’m not working out, I get bored easily, eat unhealthy foods, and on some occasions even slip into a depression.  Yes, all symptoms of emotional eating.

Working out encourages me to make smarter meal choices, drink more water, and produce those wonderful endorphins that elevate me into high spirits.  I am happy to be returning to the gym…back to the grind, the planned workout routines that leave me sweaty and sore.

dontstop2I enjoy the feeling of my body being challenged, pushing through the aches and pains to make it to the next level.  If something knocks me down I simply dust myself off and keep going and not everyone understands that.  People will call you crazy, they will tell you to slow down, they will tell you to rest or that you are pushing to hard…basically, they will give you a way out.  They will give you reasons to justify slowing down, and giving up.  They do not realize that they are acting just like an enabler-giving you just enough to stay right where you are and holding you back from the potential of what you can actually be.  Don’t fall victim.  They tell you that it is okay to be complacent.  I say, stay focused and keep moving.  You honestly don’t know your own potential until you test it.

You may lose friends and family, but even then the reality is that those who really care about you will support your efforts and encourage you to keep going.  They won’t let you give up.  Supporters don’t try to temp you with foods you are trying to avoid.  They will respect your workout time and may even want to join you.  Supporters ask about your progress, or will even comment on the changes they see your body making.  That is the crowd you want to surround yourself with.

I am feeling better and ready to hit the gym, but will have to listen to my body.  I don’t know how my injury occurred because I wasn’t sore, nor had I been working on my shoulders, it was honestly a freak accident.  What is most important is that despite the pain, all I could think about was getting back up and stay on my path.  I did not give up, I did not lose track of what is so important to me.  I am focused and ready.

If you find yourself lacking your own cheering section, please know that you are not alone on your journey.  You have me.   😉

Your comments are appreciated!

