Take Your Workout Up a Notch…

There is an array of exercise methods available to help you reach your goals.  I found that sometimes it became overwhelming for me so I chose to try out out various exercise methods to learn what worked for me.  While exercise is essential for all fitness goals, one important factor should be that you should enjoy it along the way, it should never feel like a dreaded chore.  Find what works for you.

I generally enjoy splitting my weight training days up by muscle groups.  For example, I may alternate doing one day of weights where I’m pulling, the next day will be focused on exercises that involve pushing.  But most of the time, my preference is split it up a little more than that.  For example:

Monday: Chest, Shoulders, Abs
Tuesday: Glutes, Quads, Lower back, Hamstrings, Calves
…and so on

I prefer to do my cardio afterward for 30-45 minutes, and I switch that up between elliptical, treadmill, or bike.  While this alone may seem like a lot to some, this quickly became  a routine to me and I was looking for ways to further challenge myself.  Enter: Interval training, HIIT training, and Circuit training.  Although they are similar in many ways there are a few key differences.  First allow me to provide the definitions and video examples of each.

Interval Training involves exercises that alternate between two activities that are at different speeds and different degrees of difficulty.

HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) helps to improve athletic performance.  For example, you perform a series of exercises using a timer and write down how many reps you were able to complete within the alloted time for each exercise.  The next time you perform that sequence of exercises, you compare your timing and repetitions to check your progress.  (Were you able to do more or less in the same alloted time?)

Circuit Training is a mixture of high intensity aerobics and strength training that usually involves all of your muscle groups.

I chose to use Zuzana Light as my example for each type of training because she was the one who peaked my interest, and I use her videos to create my own series of exercises. I enjoy the challenges that each of these have to offer and decided to incorporate them into my workout routines at least twice a week and it made all the difference in the world.  I felt it immediately, and by the time I got home and showered, I was absolutely exhausted and sore.

What is most important is to adjust your training to what works for you. Modify it to your fitness level. Start off by adding this to your routine at least once a week, then however often you choose. Also try beginning with fewer repetitions and work your way up. Adjust your rest period between sets and as you progress, you can add more repetitions and/or adjust your timing. Trust and believe that adding this to your workout will ignite the muscles in your body like you would never have imagined.

Definitely worth adding to your routine…just start slow!

If you are looking for some routines to incorporate to your own, definitely look up Zuzana Light, or ZWOW on youtube. She has a ton a videos for you to choose from. Keep me posted on your experience!

-She’s Evolving

4 thoughts on “Take Your Workout Up a Notch…

  1. Thank you for these links! I’ve been looking to change up my at home workout. I’ve had very limited experience with interval training but it’s always ‘sounded good’ haha. Thanks for a starting point!

    • You’re welcome! I plan to continue posting more workouts. I’m sure there is much I can learn from you as well! 😉
      Please let me know if you have any questions in the future or if I can help you in anyway.

      I believe in paying fitness forward…I enjoy helping others reach their goals.

  2. Hi! I’m a bit of fitness addict. I would like to thank you for this great post. It will really advance me further. I have already signed up for your RSS feeds and would like to ask do you have and email list? Woud love to reading news in my mailbox! Thanks again!

Your comments are appreciated!

