The Power of Antioxidants…

antioxidants

I received a question today about the best way to boost your immune system and what vitamins or foods help develop healthy blood cells.  As soon as I read it my mind immediately raced to antioxidants.  They should be an essential part of our diet, but unfortunately many of us neglect them.  Antioxidants along with healthy food choices and regular exercise are essential in boosting your immune system.

The American Dietetic Association’s Complete Food and Nutrition Guide describes antioxidants as being a handful of vitamins, minerals, carotenoids, and polyphenols that are present in a variety of food.  Antioxidants are responsible for slowing or preventing the oxidative process and prevent damage to your body cells.  They are also essential in improving the function of your immune system and lowers your risk for infection and cancer.

For an even better explanation, Dr. Oz is always helpful!

Although there are many supplements on the market, the healthier and wiser alternative would be to get your antioxidants from vibrant fruits and vegetables. I think it is best for your body to get the nutrients it needs from natural sources as much as possible.  I think it is better to lean on supplements in areas that you may be lacking.  For example, I can go a whole day without eating any source of protein, so I rely on protein shakes-(but I am working on incorporating more seafood, eggs, nuts, and poultry into my diet.)  Consider supplements as not being the first choice, but the back up plan for what you are missing.

Although there are many beverages on the market like pomegranate juice, and mixed berry drinks that boast being rich in antioxidants, keep in mind that fruit juices are loaded with sugar and preservatives.  The truth is, if something is 100% natural, the ingredients should read that particular item.  For example if something reads “100% Orange Juice”, the ingredients should read “Oranges”.  But unfortunately, many manufacturers advertise Natural on the front, but show additives, preservatives and sugars on the back.  They bank on our ignorance.

A better alternative to drinking fruit juice would be to simple eat the fruit, or vegetable.  The worst that could happen is that you will feel great, your body will be absorbing less sugar which means less fat, and it will become beneficial in your weight loss.

Simply put…EAT MORE FRUIT & VEGGIES!!!

One more thing…

If you’re like me, then you may not be eating the amount of vegetables that your body needs to benefit from its nutrients-which is funny because I actually like vegetables.  I invested in a NutriBullet and it made all the difference.  It’s cost-effective, and even juices the skin of the fruit and veggies that you blend.  (The skin is where the nutrients are!)  I talk a little more about it on the Favorites tab, and share some of my own recipes under the Nom…nom…nom tab.  I have provided the infomercial below because a lot of valuable information is provided.  I’m beyond excited about my purchase!  I love it!  (THANKS HONORENE!)

I hope this has been helpful @missjukudoll!  😉

Your comments are appreciated!

