*long, heavy siiiiiiiiigh….

I’m a little angry today. I started training a friend of mine yesterday and was beaming with pride after our workout. I was, and still am so very proud of her and I am looking forward to our next session tomorrow. But as of this very moment…I’m frustrated.

In 2008, I was in an auto accident where I was smashed between two trucks and although I am very thankful to have not sustained a debilitating injury or have to have any surgery, I did receive an injury that continues to haunt me.  Basically, the base of my spine, known as the sacrum, is turned inward on the right side.  Initially, it left my hips misaligned, but physical therapy and yoga helped tremendously.

I guess you can say that I’m frustrated because I’m a firm believer in working hard to get the results I want.  I resent being slowed down.  Today, I definitely had to pause so that I could be ready for “Tammy’s” next training session tomorrow.  I refuse to giver her any exercise that I can’t do.  She can attest that with her first session with me, I was with her every step of the way.  I still plan on working out tomorrow with “Tammy”, but regret that today I had to listen to my body and slow down.  I still might try to do a few exercises tonite, but listening to my body is aways key.

 

Wish me well folks!  Tomorrow is a new day!!!

7 thoughts on “*long, heavy siiiiiiiiigh….

  1. It’s good you are listening to your body though. Although not as serious as a back problem, I have very bad knee problems. After each zumba class I tried, I was out of commission on leg press and stationary bike for several days. Like you, I was incredibly frustrated that my body wouldn’t keep up with my brain. I wish you the best of luck with your next session! Sounds like you found a great partner who challenges you.

  2. Hope things go well! You make me believe that I can accomplish my goals with my injury!!! Oh yeah I start Bikram next week!!! 🙂

    • Hi Sabrina! I do believe that you can accomplish your goals (even with an injury)!
      Your determination encourages me! I’m excited you are starting Bikram, please let me know what you think!
      Also, arrive early, and talk to the instructor. Be sure to tell them about your injury prior to class. I also strongly suggest that you start drinking lots and lots of water, especially before class. Because if you don’t, you will feel weak, and lightheaded.

Your comments are appreciated!

