Randomly Focused…(and a little advice)

I am ready for my success. 

Lately, I have developed such an insatiable thirst for my workouts.  Sometimes it is a challenge for me to drag myself to the gym, but once I am there I am fully engaged into my training.  I have really changed my approach to working out by not being so hard of myself. 

In my previous training, I was very strict and militant, almost unforgiving.  I worked out six days a week without fail, which only left 1 day for my body to rest.  I pushed myself to go to the gym when I was not feeling well or felt energy deficient.  It resulted in me getting burnt out.  I now choose to listen more closely to my body.  I am in tune with my body and what it needs and as a result of this, I feel like I am getting better results.

For some reason lately, I have not had much of a taste for any particular type of food.  Many foods that I used to enjoy taste very bland to me.  I don’t enjoy the foods that I used to.  As of now, I am at a point where I am having to force myself to eat.  I wake up and I’m not hungry, but I force myself to enjoy a small breakfast, even if it is a bowl of cereal.  Throughout the day, I have difficulty trying to choose what foods to eat because I don’t have a taste for anything.  But I refuse to starve myself.  I am very focused on being as healthy as I possibly can be.

One thing I have learned over the years is that you get out of your workout and eating habits what you put into it.  I am saying this to say, that if everything is given to you, you typically do not have the appreciation for it as you would if you worked for it.  For example, the more I chose to learn about my body, its functions, nutrition, and fitness the more engaged and committed I am in my workouts.  I had and continue to have a greater appreciation for everything I was doing.  I have become very cautious with what I chose to consume and even more cautious with the type of energy I surround myself with. 

I had the pleasure of working with a trainer a few months ago, and I enjoyed our training sessions, and it felt good to have someone push me beyond my limits.  But I felt like I lost my connection to what I was doing somewhat because I had someone doing everything for me.  He told me what to do, how many repetitions, how long to rest…EVERYTHING. I guess you can look at it as me losing my mental connection to what I was doing, and what I was focused on achieving. 

When my sessions ended, and I had to rely on myself, it took me a minute to get back into the swing of things.  I am so thankful that I have always kept notebooks of my workouts because on my first day back to organizing my own workouts, I went completely blank.  So I used my workout journals as my guide until I got my rhythm back.

I feel more connected to my workouts when I plan them.  I feel more aware of what I am eating when I read about nutrition.  I comfortably know what exercises to do when I know my body by muscle groups and functions and I know how hard to push myself because I listen to my body.

I guess if I were to give someone advice, I would strongly suggest taking the time to research your nutritional options, learning about your body, and choosing a goal that works for you.  Take the time to research and map out what will work best for you and your body type.  Keep a fitness journal so that you can keep record of what does and does not work well for you.  In short, simply do not rely on all of the information that is put out there for quick and easy ways of losing weight.  Look at everything with a skeptical eye, and read up on it before committing yourself mentally, physically and financially.

I apologize for the randomness of my post.  I guess you could say that I have a lot on my mind to share.

Stay Focused! 

One thought on “Randomly Focused…(and a little advice)

Your comments are appreciated!

