Cost Efficient Fitness…

I recently received an email requesting ideas for working out at home.  Working out does not have to be an expensive habit.  It does not require a gym membership, or a personal trainer.  You can get in shape from the comfort of your own home and technology allows you to get great exercise routine for free (as long as you have internet access).  You may find yourself having to invest in some basic home equipment such as an exercise ball, weights, and resistant cords to get you started.

The great thing about viewing fitness videos on the internet is that for one, there are so many videos of different types of fitness.   Secondly, viewing different videos online allows you to mix and match the styles and customize your own workout.  You can also customize how many repetitions you would like to do and decide whether or not to incorporate weights.  Ultimately, you become your own trainer.

If you prefer to workout outdoors, there are plenty of physical activities to choose from.  Enjoy walking, hiking, bike riding, running, and yoga as your fitness choice.  There are also an abundance of adult sports leagues such as softball, basketball, flag football and even dodge ball and kickball.

Be sure to pay close attention to the correct posture to use for each exercise to fully benefit from each movement and to prevent injury.  It is always wise to consult with a physician before starting a new workout.  Inquire what a healthy target heart rate is ideal for you to meet your goal and follow that accordingly.  There are many heart rate monitors available on the market.

To find and create a great routine, you can search for videos on youtube, google, or bing (among others) by muscle group, fitness type, or by weight loss/gain.  Please enjoy a few of my favorites below…

Enjoy!  (Proceed with Caution!)

4 thoughts on “Cost Efficient Fitness…

  1. I workout form home all the time now! I use to go to the gym for YEARS. But I am really enjoying not dealing with travel time, or fighting for gym equipment. And workout videos are AWESOME. They get you doing new moves and it feels like you are actually working out with a trainer! Also, great videos that you posted. I like the first one by Zuzana Light. Looks challenging and effective!

    • Thank you for the response! I love interaction!

      You’re right, there are some amazing videos on the internet. Zuzana Light has some of the most amazing videos on the internet (in my opinion). I have been a fan of hers since she was doing BodyRockers with Charlie James.
      Her philosophy is that you do not need the gym to get in shape, and she’s right. I still enjoy the gym, so what I had done in the past is started incorporating her workouts as my cardio, then do weights, and finish off with the treadmill or the elliptical. I’ve stopped doing that, but after watching the videos to prepare for the post, I realize that I need to start doing it again.
      I’m sure that I will reach a point where I start saving my money and phasing out the gym…until then, I will mix the best of both worlds! 😉 Thanks for the comment!

      • Well, thank you for the great information! I must admit, I feel a little intimidated by these videos, but that is a good thing. I like working out to people that inspire me and strong women definitely assist with that. As for the gym, I will eventually get another gym membership soon. But it is nice to know I can workout at home as well. A combination of both worlds is a good balance!

Your comments are appreciated!

