Cardio Drillz…

I am meeting more and more people who are interested in working out from home and quite frankly, as summer approaches and the gym becomes more crowded, I can’t say that I blame them.  Working out at home has some limitations, but you can also use it to your advantage.  For one, your house isn’t crowded, you have plenty of room to move around and there isn’t some crazy woman (ME-lol!) mean muggin’ you to take your place when you are done.  Not to mention, you can workout out at any time.

I have decided to go back to adding what I call my “Cardio Drillz” because they are very effective, and it is a nice break from running, elliptical, the stationary bike and treadmill.  I would like to add that I usually start my workout with Cardio Drillz, then do weight training and will finish off with the traditional equipment cardio.  However, you can use these drills as your cardio routine and simply manipulate the number of repetitions for your own intensity level.

*Disclaimer: Please consult a physician prior to starting this workout or any new workout routine.  Please follow the guidance of your physician!

Here is my Cardio Drillz Session for Sunday:

Tools Needed: Gymboss Timer (or Free Gymboss Timer Phone App), Yoga Mat/or Towel

*Set your timer according to each of the listed intervals:

  1. Jog in Place-Knees Up!  (30 Sec)
  2. Rest (20 Sec)
  3. Squats (Squat deep!  Make it count!)  (30 Sec)
  4. Rest (20 Sec)
  5. Side Step Hop (over towel/yoga mat) (30 Sec)
  6. Rest (20 Sec)
  7. Squat (30 Sec)
  8. Rest (20 Sec)
  9. Alternating Front Kick (try to kick waist high-squeeze your core with every kick!)  (30 Sec)
  10. Rest (20 Sec)
  11. Squat (30 Sec)
  12. Rest (20 Sec)
  13. Alternating Rear Kick (slightly bend forward and kick behind you like you’re kicking down a door!)  (30 Sec)
  14. Rest (20 Sec)
  15. Squat (30 Sec)
  16. Rest (20 Sec)

All 16 exercises and rests make 1 Set and I did 8 sets!  It was a challenge, and I was ready to stop after my fourth set, but I pushed and felt great that I completed my drill session!  You may choose to use weights during some of these exercises to make it more challenging, that is up to your discretion. It took me about 45 minutes to complete all 8 sets.

Although I continued on to weight training my upper body once I finished these exercises, I cannot reiterate enough the importance of listening to your body.  Push yourself, but know when to slow down, pause, or stop.  You are not in a race with anyone but yourself.  If you try this routine 2 to 3 times per week, you will find your endurance increasing and successfully completing more repetitions.

For those of you who try this routine, please share your thoughts with me, I would love your feedback!  I will continue to post these drillz regularly.  Good night evolves!  Rest well and kick ass tomorrow!  😉

2 thoughts on “Cardio Drillz…

  1. Dang! That is a lot of squats! Talk about a bootie blast. I love it. Sounds intense to get through 8 sets! My legs would be jello no doubt. I love cardio that moves the body and makes you focus such as your cardio drill above. And switching every 30 seconds for the exercise keeps it moving quickly! Not a lot of time to day dream. I love it!

    • It was really no joke! I was ready to quit at the 4th set, but pushed thru and struggled thru the last two. lol But I did it!!!

      Definitely a booty blast indeed! 😉 Thanks for your feedback! I appreciate it! Let me know if you try it out!

Your comments are appreciated!

